Nightingale Awards 2021 recognize 15 products

nightingaleCleveland, Ohio—Healthcare design magazine in collaboration with the Center for Health Design and The Healthcare Design Expo + Conference announced the winners of The Nightingale Awards 2021.

The Nightingale Awards, an industry program recognizing products related to the built healthcare environment, are named after Florence Nightingale, a tireless advocate for improving care and conditions in 19th century military and civilian hospitals. According to the company, the award criteria are the product’s contribution to a healing environment, along with aesthetics and innovation; contribution or solution to clinical or operational results; durability, functionality and quality; sustainability of the environment; industry certifications and standards and list price. To judge the entries, judges visited exhibitors’ booths before the Healthcare Design Expo opened to view the products, hear the story of their design and development, and ask questions.

This year’s judges included:

  • Shary Adams, leader in mental health behavioral practices, CannonDesign;
  • Dee Dee Bonds, senior interior designer/collaborator, HOK;
  • Edward Cheshire, Architect, Senior Project Manager, Nationwide Children’s Hospital;
  • Sarah Cypher, Director of Nursing, Froedtert Hospital;
  • Cindy Flinchum, project manager interiors, UW Health;
  • Melanie Harris, director of healing practice, BSA Life Structures;
  • Debbie Heitzman, Director, SSR;
  • Isaac Holman, senior interior design manager, ESa;
  • Andrea V. Hyde, senior project manager, interior planning, design + construction, Stanford Health;
  • Tiana Lemons, senior associate, healthcare studio leader, Orcutt/Winslow;
  • Travis Tyson, director of planning, Cleveland Clinic; and Anthony Treu, healthcare practice leader, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill.

The recipients of this year’s awards are as follows:

The Nightingale Best of Competition Award & Gold Award in Fabrics & Textiles

  • CF Stinson, LLC, for CARE x Stinson

The Gold Award and an Innovation Award in Architectural Products: Non-Clinical

  • Precise lock and hardware for ligature resistant swing door system

The Silver Award in Demountable Walls

  • Falkbuilt for Falkbuilt Digital Component Construction (Walls)

The Gold Award in Fabrics & Textiles

  • CF Stinson, LLC, for CARE x Stinson

The golden prize in floors: hard surface

The Gold Award and an Innovation Award in Flooring: Resilient

  • American Biltrite for Sonata Elements

The Silver Award in Floors: Resilient

  • Gerflor USA for Mipolam Evo

The Gold Award in furniture collections

  • Stance Healthcare for Flo Dining Collection

An innovation prize for furniture: supporting the doctor

  • Welnest for nursing post

An Innovation Award in Seating: Guest/Lounge

  • Interwoven – Kimball International for Embra

The Gold Award in Seating: Patient

  • Carolina, an OFS company, for Knack Recliner

The Silver Award in Seating: Patient

  • Interwoven – Kimball International for Ezzeric

An Innovation Award in Seating: Patient

  • Kwalu for Modena Patient Chair & Ottoman

An innovation prize for signage and signage

  • VividBoard, a GMi Co., for Swing Changeable Glassboard

A gold award in surface materials and finishes

  • Qualu for metallics that are not metal?

An innovation prize for sun protection and treatments

  • Privacy glass solutions for VISTA-Vision

Comments are closed.